Life Takes Vista: is this real?
Reader Lornie sent me a link to what looks like an advertising campaign for Windows Vista that leaves us both scratching our heads. It’s a very professional web site but the message is, um, strange to say the least. Don’t miss the proud guy who "takes Levitra" with his Vista. Take a moment to visit and see what you think. Or scratch your head.




It’s fake, the domain is not Microsoft’s domain.
http://whois.domaintools.com/lifetakesvista.com
Microsoft better shut it down quickly then. It sure looks real if bizarre.
Over here they have rather strange “I am a PC” ads..
Isn’t “Life Takes” part of Visa’s current campaign? Maybe this is some clever comment on advertising.
The slogan seems to me too short. Here are some suggestions for extending it:
Life takes Vista
Vista takes the biscuit
Life takes Vista
Vista takes your life
Life takes Vista
Life is a long sentence
Actually, having turned off just about all of Vista’s special features I get on with it pretty well.
Allan
i dont think this is microsoft campaing. the font they use is not sagoe.
It looks like very clever domain squatting.
The give away is the ownership of 381,223 other domains by the same company.
The clever bit is that the site is relevant to the domain which makes it harder for the domain to be taken away from them
decent idea if legit. awkward results.
Weird. I genuinely like Windows Vista, but that advertising (if it’s not some kind of sick joke) makes me want to not like Vista.
Look what os they are using in this screnshot!
http://xs.to/xs.php?h=xs232&d=08435&f=look_677.jpg
Do some of these comments/photos even make sense? Oh, and the website design and whois information both say that it’s definitely not Microsoft
.
James,
We got the same heads up from the same “reader”. Clearly there’s something more going on here. And it definitely has a PR feel to it. Here’s some thoughts I posted over at BrandsAmongMany on the issue: http://tinyurl.com/lornie